Penn Live Arts Blog

Live Event: So Percussion Solos

Posted June 24, 2020

Music New Music Virtual Stage

We are excited to present the acclaimed new music ensemble Sō Percussion in an exclusive, livestreamed performance on July 1 at 7 PM on our Facebook page. The four members of Sō will perform a short series of back-to-back solo works live and then join Erin Busch, a doctoral fellow in music composition at Penn, for a discussion and Q&A. Audience members are encouraged to comment during the event with any questions for Sō.

In advance of its originally scheduled performance in April, Sō Percussion had been collaborating with Busch and the Penn Sound Collective, a graduate composition group, since fall 2019. The April performance would have featured world premieres by Busch, Nathan Courtright, Flannery Cunningham, James Diaz and Ania Vu, but unfortunately had to be postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

While we look forward to welcoming Sō for its Annenberg Center debut in the future, for now we are eager to gather online for an evening of mesmerizing solo percussion. See you July 1 at 7 PM on Facebook Live.  (Please note, you do not need to have a Facebook account to watch this event.)


Prelude #1 (from 24 Preludes for bitKlavier) by Dan Trueman
Adam Sliwinski, bitKlavier  

Rolling Meditation by Pauline Oliveros
Eric Cha-Beach, percussion  

Lullaby (from Pandemonium) by Paul Lansky
Josh Quillen, steel pans  

Willow by Wally Gunn and Jenise Treuting
Jason Treuting, drum set  

Southwing by Lainie Fefferman
Adam Sliwinski, bitKlavier  

Nuff Respect by David Rudder, arr. Andy Narell 
Josh Quillen, adaptation and steel pans