Buy Tickets

Alarm Will Sound

Ten Thousand Birds

September 25, 2021
Morris Arboretum
PLA Presents

Event Location: Morris Arboretum, 100 E Northwestern Ave, Philadelphia
Rain Date: September 26

The “unusually versatile, reliably exhilarating new-music ensemble” (The New York Times) Alarm Will Sound makes its Penn Live Arts debut, returning to our city after a 12-year hiatus with the local premiere of Ten Thousand Birds by Pulitzer Prize and Grammy® Award-winning composer John Luther Adams. This experiential, open-ended collection of pieces is based on native birdsong, encompassing a range of colors and instrumentation and newly informed by actual migration patterns tracked at the Morris Arboretum. The audience roves freely around the space and the performers, experiencing the music from many perspectives as human creativity and natural phenomena blur.

“Alarm Will Sound has become one of the most vital and original ensembles on the American music scene.” (The New York Times)

Save up to 35% by including this performance in a subscription! » Learn more
Single tickets go on sale on August 10.
You May Also Like

The Crossing @ Christmas

Carols after a Plague
December 17, 2021

The Crossing

In a House Besieged
March 27, 2022
Also See

All Music
All New Music
All Penn Live Arts Debuts
All Philadelphia Premieres

Photo credits:
1: Gavin Chuck
2, 4: Robert Wagner
3, 5: Alan Pierson